Timothy Deer to receive inaugural NANS Presidential Merit Award

Timothy Deer

Renowned pain management expert and clinical professor of anaesthesiology Timothy Deer (West Virginia University, Charleston, USA) is set to receive the inaugural Presidential Merit Award from the North American Neuromodulation Society (NANS).

This award—which is a new introduction for 2023—has been established by NANS to recognise an individual who, in the opinion of the society’s president, has worked tirelessly to advance the field of neuromodulation.

Deer is also the president and CEO of the Spine and Nerve Centers of the Virginias; chairman and co-founder of the American Society of Pain and Neuroscience (ASPN); and past president of the International Neuromodulation Society (INS).

Current NANS president Salim Hayek (Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, USA) will present the award to Deer during Plenary Session I on Friday 13 January at the 2023 NANS annual meeting (12–15 January, Las Vegas, USA).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here